Ice Hockey

Women’s Ice Hockey

Trinity’s women’s ice hockey team, coached by Jenny Potter in her inaugural season, posted a 10-8-7 overall record and tied Bowdoin for fifth place in the NESCAC with a 5-6-5 league mark. The Bantams qualified for the NESCAC Championship Tournament for the ninth time and the eighth year in a row but lost at Williams in the opening round.

Men’s Ice Hockey

Athletics Ben Coulthard '14

Ben Coulthard ’14

Trinity’s men’s ice hockey team, led by third-year coach Matt Greason, finished the season with a 21-5 overall record and atop the NESCAC with a 15-3 league record. The Bantams bounced Wesleyan 9-1 in the NESCAC quarterfinals but lost to Bowdoin in the semifinals. Trinity junior forward Jackson Brewer was named the 2014 Joe Concannon Award recipient as the best American-born college hockey player in New England competing at the Division II/III level and as the NESCAC Men’s Ice Hockey Player of the Year, while first-year forward Ryan Cole was honored as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Brewer also was named to the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA)/CCM Division II/III All-American East First Team, while junior captain defenseman Michael Flynn and sophomore forward Michael Hawkrigg graced the AHCA/CCM All-American East Second Team. Brewer, Flynn, Hawkrigg, and Cole were also chosen for the All-NESCAC Men’s Ice Hockey First Team. Brewer and Trinity senior goaltender Ben Coulthard had been named as semifinalists for the Concannon Award; Brewer becomes the second Bantam to receive it, following Joe Ori ’05, who shared the award in 2004-05 when he led Trinity to its only NCAA Division III Final Four appearance.