Athletics Hall of Fame

The inaugural class of the Trinity College Athletics Hall of Fame was announced in May by Director of Athletics Drew Galbraith. The Hall of Fame, created to celebrate the rich history of athletic excellence at the college, honors those who, through participation, coaching, or service, have distinguished themselves in intercollegiate athletics, brought honor and acclaim to Trinity, and contributed to the success and advancement of intercollegiate athletics at the college. The group will be inducted into the Hall of Fame during Homecoming Weekend, October 25–27.

The 2019 inductees are:          

George Brickley ’79 (men’s ice hockey) was the 1978 ECAC Men’s Hockey Player of the Year and remains the most prolific goal scorer in Trinity men’s ice hockey history with 113 goals and 82 assists for 195 points.

Amina Helal ’04 (women’s squash) was a four-time All-American and two-time National Champion, both individually and as part of Trinity’s 2002 and 2003 Howe Cup title teams. She was inducted into the College Squash Association (CSA) Hall of Fame in February.

Ray Jones ’97 (football, men’s track and field, and wrestling), a former NESCAC Football Offensive Player of the Year, set numerous records on the gridiron and also was a New England Champion and All-American wrestler and a record-holding triple jumper.

Tim Kiely ’08 (baseball and football) was the ace of Trinity’s 2008 National Championship team that set an NCAA record with a 45–1 overall record. The only pitcher in Trinity history to throw a perfect game, Kiely was an All-American and was drafted by the Anaheim Angels.

Roger LeClerc ’60 (baseball and football, pre-NESCAC) was named a football Little All-American and the Dan Webster Team MVP award winner for Trinity’s baseball team before going on to play in the NFL for the Chicago Bears.

Don Miller (coach, football and softball), a five-time NESCAC Coach of the Year, was one of Division III football’s most elite coaches during his time, retiring as the all-time winningest Division III Coach in New England history.

Olivia Brown Paine ’78 (field hockey and women’s lacrosse) was the first-ever recipient of the Trinity Club of Hartford trophy and also was a Susan E. Martin Award winner as the college’s top senior female scholar-athlete.

Ellie Pierce ’88 (field hockey, women’s lacrosse, women’s squash) was a three-sport All-American and became Trinity’s all-time women’s lacrosse leader in career goals, assists, and points in 1988.

Amanda Rival ’01 (women’s track and field) was a Division III National Champion and two-time All-American in the heptathlon. She still holds college records in the heptathlon, pentathlon, high jump, and long jump.

Joe Shield ’85 (football) threw for 6,646 yards before being drafted by the Green Bay Packers in 1985. He is considered one of the best football players to ever come out of the state of Vermont.

B.J. Toolan ’95 (women’s basketball and softball), a New England and ECAC Women’s Basketball Player of the Year, ranks second in team history with 1,245 points. She also was a Team Kodak First Team All-American as a senior.

For more information on the inductees and to learn how you can nominate someone for the next Trinity College Athletics Hall of Fame class, please visit