Women’s Squash Hall of Fame

Wendy Bartlett
Photo by Jonathan Lester

Trinity College Head Women’s Squash Coach Wendy Bartlett, who just completed her 35th season, and former Bantam All-American Amina Helal ’04 were inducted into the College Squash Association (CSA) Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2019.

Bartlett is one of two coaches and five former players, including Helal, to be inducted in this year’s class at ceremonies held in February.

 Bartlett’s teams have won three CSA National titles (Howe Cups), including back-to-back victories in 2002 and 2003 and later in 2014. Trinity also has finished as a Howe Cup runner-up five times. Bartlett’s teams have consistently produced impressive results, winning matches nearly 80 percent of the time (423–112 overall record) and earning all 13 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Championships since the tournament was established. Bartlett was honored as the NESCAC Coach of the Year for four seasons. On an individual level, 40 of Bartlett’s players have earned All-American honors under her guidance. In 2019, six Trinity women’s squash players were named All-Americans.

 Helal was a two-time CSA National Singles (Ramsay Cup) Champion, capturing the titles in her sophomore and junior seasons (2002 and 2003) and bookending them with appearances in the Ramsay Cup finals in 2001 and 2004. During her two individual championship seasons, Helal also led Trinity to back-to-back Howe Cup crowns and a perfect 25–0 record in dual matches. While playing in the No. 1 position for Trinity for all four years, Helal amassed a record of 65–8 and capped her career by earning 2004’s Betty Richey Award, given annually to the woman who best exemplifies the ideals of squash in her love of the game, sportsmanship, and high level of play.


2019 Women’s Squash All-Americans
First Team
Sarahi Lopez ’22, Daniel Goodwin Scholar
Min Jie Teh ’21

Second Team
Salma Alam El Din ’20, Charles G. Woodward Scholar
Jennifer Haley ’19                                                                                                            
Vanessa Raj ’20, P. Henry Woodward Scholar
Akanksha Salunkhe ’21, Ida Doolittle Memorial Scholar